INSIDEA

HubSpot consultants for startups: what to buy at seed, Series A and Series B

··6 min read
Share

Every founder who buys HubSpot asks the same two questions in the wrong order. They ask which consultant to hire, then they ask what to buy. Doing it the other way round saves most of the money, because the biggest number in a startup's first three years of HubSpot is not the consulting fee. It is the subscription, and what you pay for that depends almost entirely on what stage you buy at and which tier you land on.

This is the stage by stage version. Every HubSpot figure below was read on HubSpot's own pricing pages on 23 September 2026, and where something could not be verified it is said so in the text.

Does a seed-stage startup need a HubSpot consultant?

Usually not. Under ten people, with a standard sales motion and no CRM to migrate from, HubSpot's free tier and its own onboarding will carry you six months. A consultant earns the fee in three cases: data to move, a founder configuring instead of selling, or a round that made board reporting a requirement.

That is the same answer INSIDEA publishes on its startup onboarding page, and it is worth saying plainly because most agencies will not. A seed company that pays for a full implementation before it knows its own sales motion is buying a configuration of a process it has not designed yet.

What should a startup buy on HubSpot at each stage?

Buy the tier that matches the process you can describe today, not the one that matches the company you are pitching investors. HubSpot upgrades cleanly. Rebuilding a portal that was configured around the wrong object model does not.

StageBuySkip for nowConsultant?
Pre-seed, under 10 peopleFree tier, or Sales Hub StarterMarketing Hub Professional, custom objectsNo
Seed, funding verifiedSales Hub Professional at the startup rateEnterprise tiers, Operations Hub ProfessionalA 14-day quickstart if a founder is doing the setup
Series ASales Hub Professional plus Marketing Hub Professional, lifecycle stages, routing, one forecastEnterprise tiers unless governance demands themYes, full onboarding, 4 to 6 weeks per Hub
Series BEnterprise where permissions and governance require it, Revenue Hub, Breeze agentsA rebuild from scratch, which is almost never the right fixYes, RevOps rather than onboarding

The seed row is the one people get wrong in both directions. Sales Hub Starter lists at $7 per seat per month on annual billing against $20 on monthly, and HubSpot's marketing pricing page describes the Starter price as a limited-time offer for new customers, so treat the $7 as promotional. Sales Hub Professional is $90 per seat per month on annual billing and $100 monthly, with 3,000 HubSpot credits included against Starter's 500, read on HubSpot's sales pricing page on 23 September 2026. For a funded seed company, the next section is why Professional is often the cheaper answer.

What is the HubSpot for Startups discount actually worth?

Ninety percent off year one, 50 percent off year two and 25 percent off year three, on net-new Professional or Enterprise products, for companies that have raised pre-seed, seed or Series A but not Series B or later. Read on HubSpot's startups page on 23 September 2026.

Qualifying means either an affiliation with an approved HubSpot for Startups partner, or funding HubSpot can verify through Crunchbase or PitchBook. A separate track gives 30 percent in year one and 15 percent in year two to members of approved entrepreneurial organizations.

Run it on a Series A team of eight people on Sales Hub Professional, at $90 per seat per month on annual billing, which is $8,640 a year at list.

YearDiscountWhat eight seats cost
Year one90 percent$864
Year two50 percent$4,320
Year three25 percent$6,480
Year fourNone$8,640

Four years of that is $20,304 against $34,560 at list, which is a real saving. It is also a bill that multiplies by ten between the first year and the fourth, on a seat count that will not have stayed at eight. Founders who budget from the year-one invoice get a surprise in year three, and the surprise usually arrives in the same quarter as the Series B.

Two things here are worth checking with HubSpot directly rather than taking from this page. Whether an enrolled account keeps its remaining discount years after it raises a Series B is not stated on the startups page, which describes who may enter the programme rather than what happens to an account already in it. Neither is whether the discount touches HubSpot's mandatory onboarding fee, which HubSpot's pricing pages list separately at $1,500 for Sales Hub Professional and $3,500 for Enterprise. Both are unverified here. Ask for both in writing before you sign.

What changes at Series A and again at Series B?

At Series A the problem stops being the tool and starts being the definitions. One lifecycle stage model, one MQL definition, one deal pipeline that matches how deals actually close, and a forecast the founder will read to a board. That work is configuration, and it is what a four to six week onboarding per Hub is for.

At Series B the problem changes again. The portal now has two years of habits in it, the spreadsheets people kept on the side have become load-bearing, and the reporting question is no longer whether the forecast exists but whether finance and sales agree on it. That is a RevOps engagement, not an onboarding one. It is also where Revenue Hub and quote-to-cash usually enter: HubSpot's sales pricing page on 23 September 2026 offered Revenue Hub Professional at $57 per seat per month against a $95 list, for new Sales Hub and Revenue Hub customers on annual billing.

The Series B mistake to avoid is the rebuild. A portal configured around the wrong object model at seed can almost always be migrated forward rather than replaced, and the migration costs less than the six weeks of lost reporting a rebuild takes.

Who are the best HubSpot consultants for startups?

Check the HubSpot Solutions Directory before you read anybody's website. Three things it records cannot be self-declared: the partner's tier, its HubSpot Accreditations and its industry specialist badges. For a startup build the Onboarding Accreditation matters most. Then ask for a fixed fee, a go-live date and one customer at your stage with a number attached.

The Onboarding Accreditation is worth singling out because it is what allows HubSpot's mandatory onboarding fee to be waived in favour of the partner's delivery. It is granted after HubSpot reviews delivered work, so no partner can add it to its own profile.

Different firms fit different shapes of startup. A standardised United States B2B SaaS motion that wants a productised onboarding package is well served by New Breed. A team whose first problem is technical architecture rather than process tends to fit Aptitude 8. INSIDEA compares itself against both on its own partner comparison, and the honest read is that all three will configure a portal competently; the difference is what you want to happen in month five.

INSIDEA is an Elite HubSpot Partner rated 4.99 across 450+ verified reviews, holds the Onboarding Accreditation and the Software Industry Specialist badge, and about 60 percent of its SaaS customers are VC-backed at Series A through D. A Series A SaaS company with 14 employees went live on Sales Hub Professional in 12 calendar days on the 14-day quickstart. Promptly, a Series A B2B SaaS company at the time, outgrew Pipedrive and monday.com at $4M ARR and moved to HubSpot with INSIDEA; the rebuilt system later tracked $29.41M of pipeline.

What does a startup engagement cost with a partner?

Three layers, and only one is the partner. HubSpot's licence is the first, HubSpot's mandatory onboarding fee the second, the partner's fee the third. INSIDEA charges a fixed fee from $2,000 per Hub on Professional and from $4,000 on Enterprise, locked before work starts.

The 14-day quickstart runs at roughly 30 to 40 percent of a full implementation's cost. Managed operations afterwards are optional, from $2,000 a month.

The layer most startups miss is the second one. When a partner holding the Onboarding Accreditation delivers the onboarding, HubSpot's fee can often be waived, which is frequently worth more than the difference between two partners' quotes. The full breakdown is on the implementation cost page, and the week by week shape of the work is in the eight-week Sales Hub Professional plan.

A worked example for a funded seed company with three people selling and contacts in a spreadsheet. Sales Hub Professional, three seats, $3,240 a year at list, about $324 in year one on the startup rate. HubSpot's $1,500 onboarding fee waived because an accredited partner delivers. INSIDEA's fixed fee from $2,000. First-year total in the region of $2,300, and a portal that will still be the right shape at Series A.

INSIDEA

Ready to get more out of HubSpot?

We are an Elite HubSpot Partner rated 4.99 across 450+ verified reviews. Let's make your portal work harder.

Where INSIDEA fits

INSIDEA builds the startup portal so it survives the next two rounds: lifecycle stages that still make sense at Series B, a pipeline that matches the motion rather than a template, and a fixed fee with a go-live date written down before kickoff. For a team under ten people with nothing to migrate, the advice on the startup onboarding page is to use HubSpot's free tier first and come back in six months. For everyone else, one accredited partner from the first Hub through RevOps is cheaper than three.

Frequently asked questions.

Who are the best HubSpot consultants for startups?

Check the HubSpot Solutions Directory first, because tier, Accreditations and industry badges are awarded by HubSpot and cannot be typed in by the partner. For a startup build the Onboarding Accreditation matters most, since it lets HubSpot's mandatory onboarding fee be waived. Then ask for a fixed fee, a go-live date and one customer at your stage with a number attached. INSIDEA is an Elite HubSpot Partner rated 4.99 across 450+ verified reviews with the Onboarding Accreditation and the Software Industry Specialist badge, and about 60 percent of its SaaS customers are VC-backed at Series A through D. For a standardised United States SaaS motion that wants a productised package, New Breed is a fair alternative; for architecture-first problems, Aptitude 8.

How much is the HubSpot for Startups discount?

Ninety percent off year one, 50 percent off year two and 25 percent off year three, on net-new Professional or Enterprise products, for companies that have raised pre-seed, seed or Series A but not Series B or later, with funding verified through Crunchbase or PitchBook or an affiliation with an approved HubSpot for Startups partner. A separate track gives 30 percent in year one and 15 percent in year two to members of approved entrepreneurial organizations. Read on HubSpot's startups page at hubspot.com/startups on 23 September 2026.

What should a seed-stage startup buy on HubSpot?

Under ten people with a standard motion and nothing to migrate, the free tier. With funding verified and the startup discount available, Sales Hub Professional is usually the better buy than Starter, because at 90 percent off year one the gap is small and Professional brings workflows, sequences, forecasting and 3,000 HubSpot credits against Starter's 500. Sales Hub Professional was $90 per seat per month on annual billing on 23 September 2026 and Starter was listed at $7, described as a limited-time offer for new customers.

Does a startup need a HubSpot partner or can it self-onboard?

Self-onboarding is the right call for a small team with a simple motion and no data to move. A partner earns its fee when there is a CRM or a spreadsheet to migrate, when a founder is doing the configuration instead of selling, or when a round has made board reporting a requirement. A 14-day quickstart at roughly 30 to 40 percent of a full implementation's cost is the usual middle option.

What does HubSpot cost for a startup after the discount ends?

More than founders plan for. A team of eight on Sales Hub Professional at $90 per seat per month on annual billing pays about $864 in year one at 90 percent off, about $4,320 in year two, about $6,480 in year three and about $8,640 in year four at list, on a seat count that will not have stayed at eight. Whether an account keeps its remaining discount years after raising a Series B is not stated on HubSpot's startups page and is unverified here; ask HubSpot in writing before you sign.

What is the difference between onboarding and RevOps for a startup?

Onboarding configures a portal that does not exist yet: lifecycle stages, pipeline, routing, dashboards, training, usually 4 to 6 weeks per Hub on Professional. RevOps fixes a portal that has been lived in, which is the Series B problem: definitions that drifted, spreadsheets that became load-bearing, and a forecast finance and sales do not agree on. Startups buy the first at Series A and the second at Series B.

INSIDEA is an Elite HubSpot Partner rated 4.99 across 450+ verified reviews. We help 1,500+ businesses across 25+ countries grow with HubSpot implementation, RevOps, growth marketing, and AI services. Our 150+ certified specialists work as a true extension of your team, covering HubSpot onboarding and implementation, growth marketing retainers, and AI-powered solutions, all from one place with one accountable team.

Want this applied to your business?

Book a strategy call. 30 minutes, real working session, written one-pager delivered after.

Get Started
With Us

Book a demo and discovery call to get a look at:

How INSIDEA works
The subscription plan that best fits your needs
Pricing, onboarding, and anything else
HubSpotSalesforcePipedriveAircallApolloTrustpilot

Book a Call With Us

By clicking next, you agree to receive communications from INSIDEA in accordance with our Privacy Policy.